Home > brady, Ireland, manager, trapattoni > Trapattoni appointed as Ireland boss.

Trapattoni appointed as Ireland boss.


                 
(Trapattoni in his previous job as a dirty old man)

Giovanni Trapattoni has been appointed as the Republic of Ireland’s new manager, ending a four-month search for Steve Staunton’s successor.

The Italian will have gone a long way to forming a good relationship with Irish fans already by declaring his belief that Ireland can win a tricky group that includes Italy and Serbia. He said:

“Ireland are not a second-rate team, they are supposed to be a first-rate team. Qualifying for the World Cup in 2010 will be hard, and playing against the Italian team will make me proud, but it should be possible for Ireland to come first.”

Trapattoni managed Italy from 2000 to 2004 and brings a wealth of experience and a hugely impressive track record at club level, with six Serie A titles with Juventus and one with Inter Milan to his name. He has also won domestic club titles with Bayern Munich, Benfica and Salzburg.

In the last two weeks I received offers from various clubs, and about 10 days ago representatives of the Football Association of Ireland approached me. I found their offer very interesting. I am very comfortable here in Salzburg. We won the Austrian title last year and we have a great chance to win the title again this year again. But the opportunity to manage the Irish team would give me a lot more time to spend with my family. My lawyers in Milan and representatives of the FAI came come to an agreement and I accepted their offer. Leaving the title as a farewell present to my Bulls is now my number one aim.”

 (Brady in his days at Juventus) 

Trapattoni will also try to bring RTE pundit Liam Brady into the new Irish set-up and he believes the Irishman can combine any post with his current job at Arsenal. Brady also played under Trapattoni at Juventus and is well-respected within the game. As the panel said at the press conference, Trapattoni is keen to bring in someone Irish to work with the team and Brady, a fluent Italian speaker, fits the bill perfectly.

“I know Liam from our mutual time at Juventus,” said Trapattoni. “I called him and asked him for his thoughts on my commitment with the FAI, and when he said it was okay, I asked him for assistance if needed. I am positive that  Arsene Wenger, who is a friend of mine, will lend me Liam’s services if I called him.”

Categories: brady, Ireland, manager, trapattoni
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment on this story

