Home > Birmingham, Transfers > The Zarate Kid

The Zarate Kid


A big welcome to Mauro Zarate, Birmingham’s loan signing who arrived at St Andrews this week and had this to say:

I am very excited to be here. I wasn’t happy in Qatar so when this chance appeared, I was willing to take it.
The Premier League is the best league in the world and this team (Birmingham) is good and I think it can move forward.
I know Birmingham have been down towards the bottom of the table but in a way it is nice to be playing with something at stake and not being in the middle of the league where nothing matters.
That appeals to me. Every game is going to be important. It is not a case of playing for nothing. My message to the supporters is that Birmingham will stay in the Premier League – and I will do everything I can to help.
I am determined to do well for the next few months, then seek a permanent transfer and stay here for many years.

That was a breath of fresh air. Intelligent – having something to play/fight for, committed – I want to stay here for the next few years and smart – the fans will love him straight away.

In a week where Mr Diarra revealed he would someday like to leave Portsmouth when a ‘big’ club comes in for him, Anelka turned his back on adoring fans for yet another ‘big team’ and Robbie Savage admitted that his new team had no hope of staying in the Premiership, thefc100 salutes a man who comes in as though he’s straight off the school team and is desperate to play and to win….

Categories: Birmingham, Transfers
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment on this story

